2731 Healthcare Drive, Syracuse, NE 68446
Close this search box.

About Us


Compassionate Care, Healthy Communities

To be the destination healthcare provider for Southeast Nebraska


Syracuse Area Health (formerly Community Memorial Hospital) has a rich history of providing high quality, cost effective healthcare across Southeast Nebraska. 

The original hospital was built in 1952, and in 1972 the Community Memorial Hospital District was formed. It is governed by five elected board members serving four year terms. The hospital is a district hospital per the Nebraska Local Hospital District Act.

As Community Memorial Hospital continued to grow, physical expansion was limited on its original four-acre campus. Construction of the new Syracuse Area Health (SAH) medical campus began in March 2017 on a 28-acre site at the northwest intersection of Hwy 2 and Hwy 50. Syracuse Area Health opened for patient care in November, 2018 at 2731 Healthcare Drive.

Syracuse Area Health is a 10-bed Critical Access Hospital and a designated Level IV Trauma Center. SAH is also home to the Syracuse Clinic, a family practice clinic that has been operating since 1998. In 2008, SAH expanded its area of service to Weeping Water, and a new upgraded clinic and new retail pharmacy just north of Weeping Water opened in December 2022. Syracuse Area Health is also home to Strasburger Orthopaedics, with clinics located in Lincoln, Syracuse, and Nebraska City.


Michael Harvey

President & Chief Executive Officer

Derek Greenwald

Chief Nursing Officer

Lisa Voorhees

VP Operations & Compliance Officer

Lisa Cast

VP Finance

Nancy Brack

VP Human Resources

Deborah Doke

VP Marketing & Development

District Board of Directors

Fred Bredehoeft
Linda Esch
Doug Magill
Jan Moore
Will Wittler
Skip to content